Reading Specialist

Reading Specialist: M.A.Ed. Reading Specialist Degree in West Virginia

This area is designed for educator with a special emphasis on multi-sensory based instructional practices, the reading specialist curriculum allows educators to expand their knowledge of literacy. Coursework incorporates field-based experiences, early and emergent literacy, word structure knowledge, reading assessments with targeted interventions, advanced literacy instruction in comprehension, fluency and vocabulary acquisition, developmental writing, and spelling.

To be certified as a WV reading specialist, educators must possess a master’s degree, complete of six foundational courses, and pass state licensure test. Graduate students can earn their master’s degree and complete the foundational courses through the MAEd program. This program is accredited by the International Dyslexia Association.

Advisor: Dr. Leann DiAndreth-Elkins: [email protected]

Required courses in Education Common Core (12 hours):

  1. EDUC 502 Professional Writing (online every semester)
  2. EDUC 507 Research Methods (online every semester)
  3. EDUC 512 Assessment and Data Literacy (online every semester)
  4. EDUC 581 Capstone (16-week course during Fall or Spring only)

Required courses for this area of emphasis (18 hours):

  • READ 512 Literacy Assessment (Fall II)
  • READ 562 Foundations of Structured Literacy (Fall I)
  • READ 563 Multisensory Teaching Methods: Phonics and Word Structure Knowledge (Summer I)
  • READ 564 Structured Literacy Practicum (Spring II)
  • READ 565 Advanced Methods and Practices of Multisensory Instruction (Spring I)
  • READ 575 Advanced Literacy Instruction & Planning (Summer II)

Total academic hours required for degree: 30

The West Virginia Department of Education offers stand-alone certification as a Reading Specialist, which requires completion of six reading courses, a master’s degree, and passing the WV state licensure test. Individuals who already possess a master’s degree do not need to pursue the WLU MAEd for Reading Specialist certification.