Scholarship Recipient Highlights

Dec 12, 13 • Development, Winter 2013Comments Off
Jessica Truax

Jessica Truax

Bessie Anderson Education Honors Scholarship

The Bessie Anderson Education Honors Scholarship was established by the Miller Family Fund through the Community Foundation for the Ohio Valley, Inc. in 2000, in memory of Bessie Margaret Anderson who was born in Steubenville, Ohio in 1912.  Bessie graduated from West Liberty State College, which was a Normal school at that time, in 1932.  She taught in Brooke and Hancock counties.

Recipients must have a minimum high school GPA 3.5, entering as a full-time freshman with declared major in education, must be a West Virginia resident, qualify for financial aid and provide letters of recommendation from two high school teachers.

Kelsey Robertson

Kelsey Robertson

The James G. Marsh Memorial Scholarship Endowment

The James G. Marsh Memorial Scholarship Endowment was established in 1999 by his wife, Phyllis Marsh.  Marsh grew up on a farm on McAdoo Ridge near Wellsburg, W.Va.  His parents and extended family instilled in him a strong work ethic, a love of West Virginia, and a responsibility to others. He received his degree in physics in 1960 from West Liberty State College. He taught high school in Follansbee, W.Va, for one year before enrolling in West Virginia University where he earned a master’s degree in physics.

The recipient must be entering with declared major in math or science, including pre-engineering, or in science or math education, be state residents, qualify for financial aid, have demonstrated aptitude in science and/or math as supported by letter of recommendation from high school math or science teacher and have strong work ethic.

Cassandra Nowery

Cassandra Nowery

Dr. E.J. Joseph Dental Hygiene Scholarship

The E. J. Joseph Scholarship was established by the late Dr. Michael Joseph to honor the memory of Dr. Edward J. Joseph, who, through his professional dedication, gave unlimited encouragement and counsel to young men and women. He was continually striving to raise the professional standards of dentistry and dental hygiene.

Awarded to a first year dental hygiene student (West Virginia residents only), selected by their classmates, this scholarship relies on student input. Each member of the class nominates one scholarship recipient from among those eligible. The names of the three top nominees are then placed on a ballot for class voting and the student collecting the most votes becomes the scholarship recipient.

 Joseph A. Bartell Memorial Scholarship Endowment 

Myron Jellison

Myron Jellison

The Joseph A. Bartell Memorial Scholarship Endowment was established in 1981 to honor Joseph A. Bartell, Ph.D., who served West Liberty State College from 1933-1971 in many capacities, including coach, athletic director, professor, dean of men and dean of students.  He had a positive impact on the lives of students, faculty and staff.  This scholarship is a tribute to his dedication to the University and to his legacy of high goals in athletics and academic achievement.

Maggie Star

Maggie Star

The recipient must be in good academic standing,must be nominated as a sophomore or junior to receive the award as a junior or senior, participate in extra-curricular activities and at least one year of varsity athletic competition at WLU.










Scholarships Awarded for Academic Year 2014

Alfred R. de Jaager Choral Scholarship Endowment
Andrew & Linda Pasden Business Scholarship
Bessie Anderson Education Honors Scholarship
Caldwell Scholarship
Catherine H. Dorer Endowed Dental Hygiene Scholarship
Collegiate Alumnae of Wheeling Scholarship
Cory Hewitt Memorial Scholarship
Don L. Seamon Memorial Nursing Scholarship
Donald & Mary Anne Bruno Scholarship
Donald L. Pahl, Sr. Music Scholarship
Dorothy Long Nursing Scholarship Endowment
Dr. E. J. Joseph Dental Hygiene Scholarship
Dr. John P. McCullough Business/Athletic Scholarship
Eastern Ohio Dental Society Honor Scholarship
Eileen M. Reinbold Graphic Design Scholarship Endowment
Elbin Scholarship
Foundation Scholarship
Gary E. West College of Business Scholarship
Golf Scholarship
Hazel Jane Gilleland Scholarship
Hoop Club Scholarship
Jack D. Grewell Scholarship
James G. Marsh Memorial Scholarship Endowment
Jeff Severns Baseball Scholarship
Jeri Dailey Mathematics Scholarship
John C. Shaw Scholarship
John W. Carenbauer Baseball Scholarship Endowment
Joseph A. Bartell Memorial Scholarship Endowment
Kenneth Harris Scholarship
Kenneth P. Wright Scholarship
Laurence P. Williams – Sternwheel Foundation Scholarship
Maria Cigalle-Sontag Endowed Scholarship
Martha Hudson Goodrich Scholarship for Education Majors
Mary K. Ahrens Scholarship Endowment
McCarroll Family Trust
Meagel Scholarship
Molly Kiger Coulling Endowed Scholarship
Nick Baker Scholarship
Niekro/Kovalick Scholarship
Pallottini Memorial Scholarship for Outstanding
Professional Promise in Dental Hygiene
President’s Scholarship
Project BEST Endowed Scholarship
Robert Godfrey Accounting Scholarship Endowment
Robert L. & Nancy C. Loew Memorial Scholarship
Sargent Dental Hygiene Scholarship Endowment
Schnitzler/Hartenstein Scholarship
The Louis & Sandra Berkman Foundation Scholarship
The Performing Theatre Artist Scholarship
Valerie Renee Callas Scholarship Endowment
Vernon D. “Mike” Riemer Memorial Scholarship
William S. & Lee Weeks Abraham Endowed
Music Scholarship
WLU Alumni Homecoming Queen Group Scholarship
WLU Baseball Scholarship
Women’s Basketball Scholarship
Women’s Tennis Scholarship
Zach Amedro Scholarship
ZEFC Scholarship
Zeno, Pockl, Lilly and Copeland, A.C. Accounting Scholarship



Comments are closed.

Welcome to the Top of the Hill Newsletter for Summer 2014!

↓ More ↓