Phi Epsilon Kappa Fraternity

Phi Epsilon Kappa Fraternity is a national professional fraternity for persons engaged in or pursuing a career in health, physical education, exercise physiology, exercise science, sports science, sports medicine and sports management.

Phi Epsilon Kappa Fraternity was founded on April 12, 1913 at Normal College of the American Gymnastics Union in Indianapolis, IN.  Fourteen students at the college became charter members of the Fraternity and following month, the first pledge class was initiated.

In 1917, the fraternity applied and received a charter as a nonprofit organization under law of the state of Indiana.  In 1920, the fraternity went national as the Beta Chapter was installed at the American College of Physical Education in Chicago.  The fraternity has since installed over one-hundred collegiate chapters and over twenty alumni chapters.

Membership was limited to males until March of 1975, the National Council voted unanimously to extend the membership of Phi Epsilon Kappa to women.

West Liberty’s Epsilon Tau Chapter was established in May 2003 and had inducted close to 100 faculty, alumni and current students.  Criteria for admission into the fraternity is a 3.5 overall GPA, completion of at least 60 hours, and a major in the Department of Health and Human Performance.


Phi Epsilon Kappa, Epsilon Tau-Chapter, 2014-2015 Officers

  • Megan Beatty, Exercise Physiology
  • Kylie Bliss, Exercise Physiology
  • Kylie Brown, Exercise Physiology
  • Jessica Bruce, Exercise Physiology
  • Jon-Michael Brunner, Exercise Physiology
  • Jimmy Higginson, Exercise Physiology
  • Katie Kleinendorst, Exercise Physiology
  • Kristin Randolph, Health and Physical Education
  • Mason Werner, Health and Physical Education